[Loadstone] deleted points in database

Shawn Kirkpatrick shawn at odyssey.cm.nu
Tue Mar 27 06:39:18 BST 2007


The deleted points do stay in the database. This so that if the database is 
exported to the point share the system can remove the points from the main 
database. For this reason you don't remove deleted points from the exported 
file. These probably don't take up very much space. In normal opperation 
there shouldn't be enough deleted points to cause a problem. If you wanted 
to start with a clean database you could upload your data to the point share 
and then redownload it and reimport it in to a fresh database. The point 
share site won't send deleted points.

On Tue, 27 Mar 2007, Charlie wrote:

> Hi,
>
> when deleting points in database, those points don't appear in exploration
> mode anymore, but when you export the database to a textfile, they are
> still there.
>
> so how to delete a point complete? How to compress the database, so that
> those points are completely removed?
>
> And... how to differentiate two lines in an exported database to say, which
> point is the deleted one and which is the other?
>
> regards,
> Bert
>
> -- 
> Because of the bad readability of the text.
>> Why is "Text on top, fullquote at the bottom" so bad?
>>> "Text on top, fullquote at the bottom"
>>>> What's one of the most annoying things on the net?
>
> _______________________________________________
> Loadstone mailing list
> Loadstone at loadstone-gps.com
> http://www.loadstone-gps.com/mailman/listinfo/loadstone
>


More information about the Loadstone mailing list